Things I Found Before The Storm

Pictures of you in a hat sat on my desk for hours
before someone decided to turn the power off
in the city and let the juice drain out of the building

I think he thinks that I
confuse memories with imagination

like I confuse the Internet with electricity
and the steam out of the radiator with thunderstorms
and the hot hiss of the rain on the pavement

I traced my hands around the corners down
the absolute hallway the edges
developing under my fingertips like film

Because he remembers ideas and
I remember everything

You took five pictures that night
four in a row, the last in a hat
the red blush of the night behind you.

Leave a Reply

