Better and Faster

I can’t finish Infinite Jest and write anything substantial at the same time.

This is posing a heavy, haunting problem.

David Foster Wallace will just have to wait.

I write better and faster when I’m drunk, and when I told a few people that, they all agreed and said they, too, do whatever they do that’s creative better and faster when they’re drunk as well.

I really didn’t expect that.

But I don’t think David Foster Wallace had to drink. He needed pills and shocks to calm him down and numb up those firing synapses that shot his brain full of possibilities.

It’s not like alcohol reverses that. It numbs, too. I’m just not sure what.

Leave a Reply

