Your New York

Sometimes you have to return to New York to realize how wonderful it is.

You know, the grass is always greener. When I turned 13, I wrote a speech related to my torah portion about that. I never went back to synagogue after my bat mitzvah. Apparently, the grass stayed green on this side.

I run into people all the time. I thought, before I moved to New York, that running into people on sidewalks was strictly a movie or television conceit. But it’s not. I run into too many people from college, too many first dates and coworkers and even, true story, my high school English teacher at an Allman Brothers concert.

And then New York slowly becomes your New York, not just Woody Allen’s New York, or the New York you thought you might be living until you realize it’s something else entirely, something you might like even more.

Manhattan

One response to “Your New York

  1. Pingback: The grass is always greener « SURVIVAL KIT

Leave a Reply

