Internshits

It’s bad enough I don’t pay my loyal troupe of interns, who are good enough to get my mail, package television segments for producers, staff the events, and do all of my administrative work. They’re practically junior publicists. They make mama proud. Of course, I always feel guilty for their free labor. I try to send them home early and give them fun assignments– that is, when they’re not mapping out my expense reports. All three of them are graduates from top universities, unable to land jobs in publishing, and are, in my eyes, unwitting victims of the economy bottoming out. And the media is hemorrhaging jobs so quickly, young rich kids are now buying their way into these unpaid internships. Pay-per-internships? Whatever it is, it’s disgusting, sad, and yet another example how publishing was am industry built by and for the rich.

internship

Leave a Reply

