Second Thoughts

I have a date tonight and I’m getting cold feet.

He told me he doesn’t really read books. He said he reads magazines. It’s been stuck in my brain. It’s like bird shit on a windshield. I keep going over it with my wipers, but now it’s just streaking and I can’t see anything but bird shit.

I should just cancel now.

6 responses to “Second Thoughts

  1. This is hilarious. You captured the churning of second thoughts brilliantly.

  2. Just because he doesnt read books doesnt mean he isnt very intelligent. What happened to being open minded?

  3. I once dated this guy… we’ll call him The Welder. He was model-hot but dumb as a post. One day I came home from work and found him on the floor with about ten of my books spread out, open, in front of him. He looked up at me with this bewildered expression and said, “I just don’t get it. I don’t get why you read.” We broke up soon afterward.

  4. haha – i love this post. i once dated a guy who only read ‘car racing magazines’ – we had nothing to talk about ever…he was a good enough kisser that i kept him around for a few weeks longer, but i always knew that it would have to end.

  5. I have enjoyed reading your blog (the literature, the philosophy, the musings). This post was especially cheeky–and it’s stuck with me.

  6. Pingback: Ipso Facto « Subway Philosophy

Leave a Reply

