Desire

A few months ago I stood in line for Chipotle with seven of my coworkers at one o’clock. There was no way we were getting a table. I stood there within the crowd waiting, scanning the crowd hoping to spot movement. My friend was intrigued.

“Do you really think you’ll find one if you look hard enough?” he asked me, slightly mocking my stubborn gaze.

“Yes,” I said, “because I want a table badly enough.”

“Explain.”

I took out a pad and pen and made him a chart with want, desire, and fortitude mapped out.

I wish I still have that chart.

Days like today, stupid days when desire trumps fortitude, I think about those lines and how beautifully mistaken I was.

Leave a Reply

