Wants and Needs

Now I’m sober. Let’s clarify, shall we?

If I were to be totally honest, I would spell out all of my desires. But I won’t. I have, in the past, but I won’t. It is a recipe for disaster.

There is no way I can have everything I want. The world is not a genie in a bottle. I can not rub the world. The world will not grant Subway Philosophy unlimited wishes.

Why write down a list I can never complete? It’s like running a race I can’t physically finish. I can’t admit what I want anymore. All of that honesty adds up to failure.

It’s not just me. It is why we bundle up our secrets and unrequited love. It is the very nature of wishes and dreams. It is not what we say, it is what remains in the spaces between our words and our silence.

3 responses to “Wants and Needs

  1. Yet we get , or achieve, very few things that we do not desire … all of my wants are not best or even good for me … the fear and pain of unmet self imposed high expectations are not a valid reason for not setting any …

  2. Well, as far as lists go, a long time ago I told myself that if I achieve/get done at least half my list, I’m ahead. Shades of grey, not win/fail… Plus it’s fun to daydream about what-if’s. Everyone loves a little mystery in a woman… at least that’s what the French tell me.
    I liked your drunken post :)

  3. You can’t always get what you . . . oh you know the rest. It is a fine distinction between want and need.

Leave a Reply

