The Mysterious Production of Eggs

I used to order my eggs scrambled: Two eggs, scrambled, with sausage and potatoes and toast. Rye toast, thanks. That was my order at a diner. But then, I don’t know. I wouldn’t say I was bored with the scrambled eggs; I was just intrigued by over easy.

The yolk, of course, is beautiful. I love the way the yolk looks when you break into it with the tine of your fork, the slimy yellow oozing out into the white diner plate. It’s incredibly visceral.

But it didn’t taste too good. I had expected delicate hollandaise sauce, not bland yolk. So I ordered it once. And then again. And again, until I knew I had to adequately salt and pepper the eggs, soak up the rye toast with that wonderful broken bright yellow, and dip some of my potatoes in the puddle.

I have yet to decide if I actually enjoy the taste of over easy more than scrambled. I think in this case, form might trump function.

One response to “The Mysterious Production of Eggs

  1. Overeasy is definitely more aesthetically pleasing than scrambled, but scrambled are easier to mix in with grits. (I’m a southern girl, sue me.) But then overeasy – as you said – is way more conducive to toast-dipping, which is important if you have toast. Hard call.

Leave a Reply

