The People of Paper

One of my most favorite books, The People of Paper, by Salvador Plascencia, has been on my mind recently. It’s available in paperback for cheap. I highly suggest you pick up a copy from your favorite bookstore.

Below, a tiny excerpt:

The roof caved in yesterday. Today the legs of the dining-room table gave way. And the bathtub has been leaking for days.

I opened the kitchen drawer and there was nothing but rust and the plastic rings from the napkin holders.

I stayed up all night writing you a letter. It has perfect sentences– sentences that took years off my life. All the things I wanted to tell you. But when I woke up the letter was flaking and tender as ash. I touched it and it disintegrated.

You should come back.

I’m sad without you.

Without you there is nothing, not even drizzle.

I will build you bookshelves like you wanted.

Because missing you is worse than Pittsburgh.

I will wash my foreskin everyday.

I will pull it back.

I don’t know what they are called, the spaces between seconds– but I think of you always in those intervals.

One response to “The People of Paper

  1. I’m buying this book today. That is the most gorgeous, perfect writing I’ve seen in a while. Totally blown away. “I stayed up all night writing you a letter. It has perfect sentences– sentences that took years off my life. ” Just, wow. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

