Les Choses Que Je Veux Rappeler

Tell me you’re escaping

I wish excuses didn’t fill holes
because the truth is
the absence in my bed
fills the void you left
when I crawl home

Too late, I remember
what passed is past

Deep finger paper cuts
remind me of memories
I left in the back alley
of our Parisien hotel room

Thin ravines trace down
my thumb from the
evening struggle with
our perfect bottled Cabernet

I forget your lips but
remember your mouth

I lie to myself
about lying with you

One response to “Les Choses Que Je Veux Rappeler

  1. “I forget your lips but remember your mouth.” This is beautiful.

    Not sure how I ended up on your blog, but you write beautifully.

Leave a Reply

